Et Aetatis

By Biota

Biweekly paychecks are dangerous.

This is what happens when I order all my textbooks and seven CDs online, as well as a multitude of other miscellaneous things. Fortunately, more or less all of it will be reused, like for when I get to resell all of the aforementioned textbooks. What fun. Also, if you'll notice, there are a few bags of air in the mix; of all the packaging material I've seen, that one is the most bizarre.

Sooo 45 hours of work this week...Other than being a little afraid that next week will be even busier, it wasn't bad.

First I went to youth group, where Bryan led a discussion about fearing God that was based on a talk by Francis Chen. Prior to what I learned, I thought of fearing God as unhealthy--because I would rather love and revere Him than be afraid. But after a couple minutes, a quote from a favorite author of mine popped into my head, "People fear what they cannot understand." So dealing with the fear of God means admitting ignorance of who He is and the start of knowing Him. That put it more in perspective. Fear is a biological response to do what's in the best interest of the self (e.g. fearing fire means you avoid it because you're afraid of being burnt), just as fear of God can lead you to do what you should. But fearing God also doesn't mean I don't have a healthy relationship with Him; I can fear what my mom is capable of doing if I don't listen to her, but that doesn't mean I love her any less. Really powerful lesson.

It was such a good conversation that I felt really bad leaving, especially because I got there late in the first place because of work! I should know by now not to schedule things so closely, but the Facebook event said the discussion was ending at 9:30, so since I couldn't do a movie last week with Dipanjan (and haven't seen him all summer), I had opted for watching Horrible Bosses with him at 9:45. I ended up leaving at 9:40 and upon rushing out to my car, dropped my purse and the contents went everywhere. I was gathering everything up, when I realized that my car keys were missing. Thinking they flew out of my purse, I combed the parking lot and didn't find them. I retraced my steps and finally went back inside, interrupting the discussion again, but found the keys under my chair.

I made it to the theater in record time, had to wait through the super long line typical of Friday nights, and then got carded buying my ticket...Um, what. Asians may look younger than their age, but I'm 20--not 16! Admittedly, I hadn't realized the movie was rated R, but never have I been asked for ID until that night. But I did make it into the theater just as the movie started! It was not only hilarious but it made me super thankful that my boss is such an awesome person.

My favorite quote from the movie...
DETECTIVE: You wanna explain why you were speeding?
NICK: I was drag racing.
DETECTIVE: In a Prius?
NICK: I don't win a lot.
^^

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.