The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Screeeeeam ... Until You Like It!

Now I bet that made you jump!

It certainly made me jump when I went to wash my hands in the bathroom sink this morning!

I guess it is that time of year again! I threw about dozen of these out of the house in the spring when they come out of hibernation to look for a mate, and now they are heading back into the house to find somewhere warm to spend the winter. Hence their name, the Domestic House Spider, or Tegenaria domestica, to give it's posh name.

You want to treat these large arachnids with care, they are one of the few spiders in the UK that have a bite that can penetrate the skin. Oh! And don't try and run, they have been clocked as one of the fastest spiders on the planet!

When I found one crawling on my pillow above my head back last April, I became the fastest moving object on the planet that day I can tell you!

I am not a lover of spiders as you can tell, but she is a beautiful creature, the markings on her back are wonderful. I caught her, and released her back outside, no doubt she will turn up again in a few days time!

I hope I haven't made you itch too much ... sleep well!

If you can stomach it ... here are the rejected blips!

House Spider #1

House Spider #2

House Spider #3

I have backblipped the Slimbridge visit here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.