Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Today I've seen my first `slow worm'

I've photographed this marker stone twice today, the first time was at around 6.30 this morning (which is when I took this photo) and the second time was at around 11am, which is when we saw the `slow worm'. Unfortunately it was too quick for me to photograph it. It was also much smaller than I expected, though my blip adviser informs me that they can grow to be quite a bit bigger. (She grew up near Epsom Downs in Surrey where they were often to be seen in compost heaps.) We also saw a sloughed off `slow worm' skin on the road as we walked across the moor and also a large and very hairy caterpillar (not identified as yet but probably one of the large moth caterpillars).

Oh and the heathers out at long last! And the day got cloudier as it went on - grey cloud with just a hint of sun at the moment.

Similar view on 30th June >>>

Our circular walk took us along Danby Rigg, from where we descended down a very wet gully into Botton village, arriving in time for lunch. Our return walk was across the fields from Botton to Ainthorpe.

We're now taking it easy at the Fox and Hounds, where we are staying.

p.s ... and I saw a stoat as we set off up the Rigg.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.