Life through the Lens

By rvastu

post storm

This is my apartment complex and the sky after a crazy lightning storm. I ran outside in shorts so I ended up with mud all over my legs but the extra shower was well warranted.

So this is somewhat unrelated but today I went to go get an apple pie and peppermint tea at McDonalds (Starbucks is currently out of my price range) and there was this man trying to buy a cheeseburger. It was clear he had some kind of mental disability and was possibly homeless but was in the best mood imaginable. He insisted I go ahead of him in line since I was a lady so I did. When I was waiting, he went up to the counter and counted out his change. I'm not certain but I remember him taking out a $5 bill as well. From what I remember the cashier put the $5 in the cash register but it may have been absentmindedly because a minute later he insisted the man did not give him a $5 bill only the change. When the man told him he gave him a bill, the man said he would have another employee count all the change in the register to see.

However when I was walking out I saw the Calgary police or "peace keepers" as they are officially titled walking in. I don't know what exactly happened but I really wish I had said something. It just makes you wonder how many people who are somewhat outside the normal scope of society get pushed around and disregarded. In the eyes of the police this man would have far less credibility compared to the cashier. And it was just one of those moments I couldn't get out of my head. I really hope he got his $5 back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.