Lower Foothills Plus

See what was missing from yesterday's shot? When the clouds lift the difference is obvious. I don't know the name of this mountain. It is south of Ben More. That's a southern black-backed gull flying over. Large

The clouds didn't clear from the Torlesse Range until afternoon. They look magnificent, but by then they were mostly in shadow. I hope it is clear tomorrow morning.

We had the first sunshine for nearly a week. Very uplifting.

The birds are still coming to the feeders in larger numbers than usual, but now the snow is thawing I hope there will be fewer, otherwise they will be a bit expensive to feed

One visitor today was a surprise. For some years now a female bellbird has included my garden in her territory, but she has not been here much this winter. (See a year ago today) Some big kowhai trees in the vicinity have been flowering out of season. They would provide her with all the nectar she needs. But in the last few days I've heard a bellbird close by- a single penetrating note. This morning I disturbed it in the berry-laden coprosma. It was a male. He flew close around me, perching briefly on branches above me, singing the most beautiful song in clear, ringing tones. It was a magical experience, even though I was aware that his purpose was to warn me off the berry bush.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.