Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

1405

I went out for a little walk this afternoon in order to get away from the computer. The time spent editing seems to be the price one pays for not having film and processing cost these days!

I took my 10-20mm and my 24-70 macro with me but as I got to the end of the property and near the road that runs by our complex, I saw what I thought to be a hawk hovering very close to the ground. Unfortunately, I had the 10-20mm on the camera at the moment, so switched as quickly as I could to the other lens (wishing, of course, I'd packed the 80-200, too!). In the meantime, the bird made its circles drifting south and away from me. Still, I walked in its direction, to the railroad tracks where I've been spending so much time of late.

As I came 'round the corner of a building that sits adjacent to the tracks, I was startled by the bird as it took wing from the spot where a dead deer has been decaying for the last few weeks. I' guessed it was just investigating. but as it flew away (I was not in the least bit ready for a photo), it looked like it might have been a turkey vulture, which indeed feeds on carrion. It had a wing span of what was probably five to six feet (almost two metres) and its head looked to be of a vulture, not a hawk.

Sadly, it flew off and kept heading west and I was unable to get off a shot within decent range of the 70mm.

So, I wandered over to the other side of the tracks to a housing complex for married university students and found this bank of postboxes with doors in various states of open and shut.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.