Another early morning

Steve was up and out early this morning, cycling to work. Ben graciously allowed me another half hour in bed before demanding food. That was 7.30am. I guess that's not bad in the grand scheme of toddler awakenings, but in my current state it's killing me not being able to just install him in front of cbeebies with a big bowl of cereal so I can go back to bed for an extra hour and a half snooze.

It's been a tough day, all the kids have been playing up - sleepovers and late nights and all sorts combining to make children who like winding each other up.

I put Ben in proper pants this morning after his semi-success in pyjama pants yesterday, and he didn't disappoint! Although Hayley did find him in the bathroom holding himself saying he wanted mummy to help. At least he didn't wet his pants

Ben and I had some quiet time together though when the rest of them went out to crazy golf (we decided Ben was too little really). He almost went to sleep having a cuddle with me but decided he wasn't actually ready for a nap yet. I gave up and dozed on the bed but was woken up about 20 minutes later by Ben shouting at me to wake up. Why? Change my nappy mummy! Why? Because there's a poo in it! And then he wouldn't LET me change his nappy and it ended in tears. The tears ended in a sleepy cuddle but just as he was falling asleep for that much-needed nap the others arrived home and it took all of 30 seconds for his brain to register their arrival and go from nearly-asleep to wide-awake.

I'd put him in a nappy while I had a shower (this was after he had done a little poo in his pants - sigh) and this afternoon when I went to change his nappy I asked him if he wanted pants or a nappy. He asked for pants so I obliged, but he really wasn't paying attention to me telling him he should go to the potty if he needed a wee and subsequently had two accidents so that's two pairs of pants in the nappy pail now.

Must get them washed this evening...

Evidently a mixed nappy/pants day doesn't work. It's got to be one or the other, or at least once he's been put in a nappy leave him in nappies for the rest of the day. Or let him get used to pants when there's less distractions around.... maybe we'll give pants another go next week when I'm up in Manchester.

Been out to get a bigger potty this afternoon. The one we have already is just too small for him to get all his bits in even when he's not in a hurry, so now he has a bigger pot which he is most happy about.

Hopefully he'll go to bed at a reasonable time tonight and Steve and I can relax for a little while before I inevitably go to bed early!

Am so so tired. As lovely as it is staying with friends, and they are being amazingly wonderfully accommodating, I am shattered and miss my house. Hopefully next week in Manchester won't be quite so manic, and Ben and I can have some quality time together before coming back. And hopefully I can get a bit more sleep - as long as I figure out how to use mum and dad's tv!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.