The First Day...

Well today was the first commute on the bike from the Kingdom to the office. Rather satisfying if I don't say so myself. No major issues so I hope I'll manage to do at least a good few times a week weather dependant.

Big thanks to Instography for the route which from my house clocks in at a round 13 miles which took me about an hour. Plenty do-able to work around getting home and MrsTFPs work. I was trying to work my average speed earlier and I was about to go for the calculator but then 13 miles, 1 hour........ Duh...

A bit of slippy gears was the only real issue but luckily, I do know of a rather experienced bike mechanic so I'm gonna pop over there tomorrow to get the skinny of these gear system thingys.

Notes on the Practice of Cycling...
I like the time that this commute allows my mind to mull over things. Current mullings are the efficiency of gears and pedalling. Going up an incline, is it better to just put a really low gear which incurs more pedal revolutions for relatively small speed or do I go for higher gears to lessen the revolutions but toughen the climb and where do standing come into this.

I also noticed that there is the same sort of mutual head nodding of fellow cyclists in the same way that you get with hill walkers on a mountain.

This feels like it is going to be a rather interesting endeavor.

Notes on other activities of the day...
I also joined a bunch of fellow blippers to go see the Hiroshi Sagamoto exhibition at the Dean gallery. A bit underwhelming at I don't think the £7 price tag was entirely warranted but you live and learn. I did like the electricity burnt onto negative pictures but didn't care much for the other half of which had something to do with re-imagining or converting some previous persons photographs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.