Sal, Soul Sister.

By sally

A Taste of the Arctic

First day of working and I've never seen so many young people starting their day so early in the morning, ever in my life--we completely filled up the 6:15 bus. By seven we were working. It's amazing how you can get all of these young people to really be out there working that early and for so long (we didn't get off the mountain until 4:3p, no breaks). It just goes to show what can be accomplished when you do something you like to do--and get some pretty good benefits.

We're all supposed to wear nametags, even if it's not your own (any name is better than no name they say). My name was Paul. We were talking early in the morning when he noticed I didn't have a nametag, so he offered me his. I took the one that said 'Team Leader' because his other one said his hometown--in Australia and all I could picture was me spending the day practicing a horrible Aussie accent on people... while standing next to real Aussies, how embarassing. So on my first day I managed to get promoted and switch genders. Being as it was so cold outside (highs of -12°C) everyone was bundled up like an arctic explorer. The nametags are popular among people, they like to read them and see where people are from. Most of my face was covered, the nametag said Paul, I got a lot of confused looks and funny comments. Get the temperatures low enough and we all look like puffballs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.