how it is

By flashmaggie

Quiet

Had to drive into town to collect some medication, as I'd run out. I thought I might as well get a take-away for my supper, as I was there. I'm not used to loud noise. I hardly listen to music; it's distracting. I like being able to hear the birds.

Within minutes of giving my order at the fish 'n chip shop, I'd regretted being tempted. There were at least three families with umpteen children. Don't know how many; they didn't keep still long enough for me to count them. With each family, there was a lot of discussion about what everyone wanted; fish? chips? sausage in batter? The shop gives free sugary drinks with every child's meal. They didn't seem to need any more sugar. All of this was conducted at top volume, as they tried to make themselves heard. I heard them. The mothers all had pained expressions, while the fathers dithered about. One or two kids looked at me, and I resisted the urge to snarl.

After I got home and had my supper, I went out again and found a quiet spot, just before sunset, to listen to the birds and not much else. That's better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.