buildingtheplaneasIfly

By tljedi11

Sittin' on the side of the road...

Bike ride out in the boonies of Pflugerville...endless land, farm roads and intersections without road names.

Swerved to avoid a rock that I caught a glimpse of at the last second, but heard the pop and felt the bike lose steam.

*sigh* guess it is as good as time as any to practice changing out a tire (a procedure I've witnessed a million times but have never done myself).

Success! Back on the bike to head home only to realize the back tire had also popped, probably not missing the rock like I thought it had.

Time to call in reinforcements. Doubtful a patch kit would be helpful as the tube was COMPLETELY flat. Most people carry just one extra tube because chances of popping both on the same ride are slim. I like to defy the odds and push the limits, but really?

Guess I now have time for a blip while waiting (without shade even in sight). This is the one I liked the most.

Notably, two people stopped to see if I needed help, a guy with two kids and another older gentleman in a truck. Both turned around after I assured them I was okay, which to me meant they had gone out of their way. Two checks for humanity.


Location: FM 973 (FM: farm road; Pflugerville, TX)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.