The Gazweasel Times

By gazweasel

Custard pot

I had a bit of a tough decision to make today with regards my blip entry. We went to the Geffrye Museum in Shoreditch to check out the Japanese house (along with all the other rooms through the ages) and two things stood out as infinitely blippable. Actually quite a few things stood out but of all the photos I took, just two.

This one, the one I eventually chose, is a custard pot in the shape of an artichoke. They were made in the late 18th century, just in time for the custard craze that swept polite society. These (there is actually ten of them) were made by Wedgwood.

My other option I have popped into my blipfolio. It is painted on the garden room wall and appears to be a duck woman with a strange parasol. It is here if you want to see it as well.

Leaving aside, momentarily, the custard pots and the duck woman (or maybe it's a transvestite duck man), the museum is highly recommended. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.