Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Working late

I walked miles late this afternoon searching for the viewpoint from which a photographer took an image that I really liked of the church at Hamsey near Lewes with Malling Down in the background. By 7pm I'd still not managed to find the right spot and it was starting to get too dark anyway - I didn't have my tripod with me. Retracing my steps towards Barcombe I was delighted to see a parhelion or sun dog - where you get a large patch of coloured light in the sky some distance from the sun but at the same elevation. It disappeared after about ten minutes. I got a few nice images but decided to blip this landscape instead. I'm still not taking many landscapes but I liked this one - its partly the line of poplar trees that look like they should be in France or Italy and partly the farmer on his tractor making maximum use of the fading light. In the background lies the ridge of the South Downs from Offham Hill on the left to Blackcap on the right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.