Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Schools out 9/17: The Eye Catching of a Camel

Unbelievable day today. Drove down through the Judean Desert and along the Western shores of the Dea Sea to Ein Gedi where there is a little treasure secreted between the salty water and the towering cliff faces, a series of waterfalls and rock pools that you can bathe in. Lots of animal life including Ibix (which I missed but TSM saw), marmosets and camels, the last being used for tourists. Photographed this one as we were driving.

Temperatures went soaring today, TSM says it was 47 degrees when we got back to the car. It was certainly 40 degrees when we went to the Dead Sea and did the obligatory floating on the surface thing. As I can't swim and have a pathological distrust of water that makes me sink it was particularly important to do this.

Coming back the desert looked incredible as we started to get the evening light, quite awesome; I can understand why people fall in love with it. Alas I was driving so no pics.

Two army checkpoints and quite a lot of driving ? feels a little tense everywhere at the moment given the situation in Gaza.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.