Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

On the Waterfront

While I was out looking for suitable blips this morning I was approached by a man who noted that I was clearly interested in photography and wondered whether I'd care to see some photos which he happened to have about his person in a plain brown envelope...

You may wonder, as I did, whether this was all heading somewhere just a little unsavoury... but, mercifully, it wasn't!

It turned out that this man had been part of a diving expedition which had recovered a Bouncing Bomb from its 1940s test site off Chesil Beach in Dorset. And he had the pictures to prove it. Yes indeed! Anyone who's seen the 1955 film 'The Dam Busters' will know about the bombs but why on earth he thought I'd be particularly interested I don't know. However, as it happens, I was able to tell him that Goatee I went to the same school as the Bouncing Bomb's inventor, Sir Barnes Wallis, albeit many years after Sir Barnes himself! So I suppose I did have a vague sort of interest, insofar as I have any interest in bombs at all. Which I don't!

Anyway, here's a view across the Mersey to the Liverpool waterfront.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.