The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Poet, Philosopher & Failure

I came across this headstone in St Peter's churchyard in Heysham. Poor Sarah Hannah Jones, she was only 44 when she died in 1909 and she has this inscription on her memorial. Therein must lie an interesting story, but a quick search on Google failed to unearth it. Strangely though I did find a photograph on Flickr of a British Council exhibition in Prague in 2003 entitled Poet, Philosopher and Failure (with the symbol of the cross on the banner).

Wifie and I had a trip out this afternoon to Heysham near Morecambe. I have been to the cooling water outfalls of the nuclear power stations looking for birds in the past, but I had never been to the village. On the sandstone headland is the remains of St Patrick's Chapel (just visible behind the trees in the top left of the picture). Here there are also 6 graves carved into the sandstone which have long since lost their topstones and contents.

It was an afternoon at the seaside. On the way, we stopped for icecreams at Brucciani's in Morecambe, then came back for fish & chips which we ate on the prom.

In the morning I had a wander round Leighton Moss. There were quite a few greenshanks on the lagoon at Public Hide. I have long since lost track of my bird list for 2011, I have done so little birding recently, but I think that is 140 for the year. I will check while this text is still editable.

A year ago, the most idiotic of all the life.turns entries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.