The Hazyland Boys

By TheHazylandBoys

Rally Obedience

We have been busy at a big fundraising event today. We are raising money for the Open European HTM and Freestyle Championships, which will be held in Denmark in October this year.

We had organised a Rally Obedience competition. I have never done Rally O with any of my dogs, but it is a sport that is known to be quite easy to switch to, if you have a dog that is trained for Obedience or Heelwork To Music, so I thought I would enter Whisper - just to support the event. He is an Obedience and HTM Champion, so he should be ok...

I met with a friend last Friday and she gave me a short Rally lesson. I soon got bored with it though and we went inside to watch HTM DVDs instead :-).

So today Whisper and I had our Rally debut. Whisper was fantastic! He never put a paw wrong. He really was stunning... Me on the other hand... I read the signs wrong and in one course I even forgot a sign!

We competed in 2 classes. I got us disqualified in one of them (forgot a sign = wrong course = disqualified) and read two of the signs wrong in the other one! Reading a sign wrong = - 10 points... I read two signs wrong (-20 points)... We got 80 out of 100 points in that class. Whoops.... Handler lost 20 points - dog was perfect! Whoops!!!

Poor Whisper - good thing I am a better handler in Heelwork To Music!

PS. We raised about £3500 today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.