My Angle

By myangle

Contact

I haven't given my old army stripes much thought for going on 20 odd years. Tonight I decided on a military theme.

Here's why:

Driving home from work last night I caught snippets of news on the radio that our commandos overseas had seen action. One killed and four injured. My nephew is over there so naturally I was worried but I decided not to mention it to Jo. No need to worry her as well.

At 11.30pm my mobile rang. It was my nephew calling to say that he was OK, uninjured and that was all he could say. I was surprised at the call but had the presence of mind to ask if he had called his Mum first. He had. So, he is safe but I suspect he is in the thick of it which is worrying.

After the call I sat down and sent him an email with some family (and boating!) photos attached. I couldn't just go back to bed. I was a bit shaken and emotional. I then emailed of Jo's brothers to let them know he is safe.

Today has been a bit of a downer. I did manage to speak to my nephews Mum briefly and I will call her again tonight. Our Prime Minister has come out and said that there will be more casualties. Nice one. While I don't fully agree with our reasons for being there, I fully support the troops on the ground.

We are very proud of him. I am looking forward to seeing him later this year for a spot of fishing. I might even take him hunting. He has been perstering me about that for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.