18 Saughton Mains

By 18saughtonmains

Bread and tomatoes

OK so this is a staged shot, but it didn't start out that way.

I was cutting tomatoes for the younger daughter, and noticed the half, quarter, eighth progression. It looked nice, and I wanted to illustrate the point that the infinite sequence which starts 1/2, 1/4, 1/8 has a sum of 1, so I added a whole tomato. (My day job is as a numeracy tutor, so it's not quite as egregious a thought as you might expect.)

At that point I thought it might look good in a photo, but the board had an old piece of baguette and some crumbs on it. So I cleaned it up and put on a newly-baked loaf of bread that she who knits baked.

When trying to frame the shot I noticed a load of clutter, so tidied a space on the work surface.

The upshot is: I like this picture! And just outside the frame is a ton of unwashed crockery, tins of beans and a kettle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.