Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Not really a dog

Not canis familiaris, anyway. This is Mendi, a New Guinea Singing Dog, and the slightly worried look, according to her human companion, expresses her hypervigilant presence among human beings. I met this fascinating animal when I met her human for tea, and we talked for most of the hour about this animal, who folds her feet under her like a cat, climbs trees like a cat, and "sings" when so inspired. (A few videos here.) She doesn't "play" like dogs do and is rather uneasy with domesticated life. She has to be tethered to a leash constantly when outside because her prey instinct is so strong, and her body so lithe and agile, that she would be over the fence and gone if she saw a bird she wanted to chase. On the other hand, she's incredibly intelligent, observant, and clearly able to remember people, events, and the location of neighborhood chickens (her favorite prey is birds, which she can catch in mid-air). She is deeply bonded with her human; they've lived together for the six years Mendi has been alive, and they participate in a research project designed to understand (and save) this rare and wonderful creature, whose existence on the planet is highly endangered. It was a great privilege to meet her, and I kept my distance till she sniffed me and indicated her approval by not leaving; she's not a touchy-feely "pet me" kind of animal.

I missed some Blip days because I'm working on a writing project I don't want to talk about because I don't want to jinx it, but sometimes when I get caught up in a project I just can't also Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.