More Life of Sands

By sands

Ferry Trip

What a very busy day I had today!

Last night, my neighbour told me there was a wee seal on the beach. Having done the Marine Mammal Medic Course a couple of months ago, I went to check on it. He looked fine and someone had put a small cordon around him so I figured another MMM had been called out to check on him.

I had a look for him this morning and he was still there. I called the British Divers Marine Life Rescue guys and spoke to a lady who knew all about the situation and said she would call the MMM who had attended the seal last night. I was worried as he was making no attempt to get to the water which was now close to him as it was high tide and people were starting to walk their dogs on the beach. I then saw a couple getting really close to him and he was getting agitated so I went to ask them to leave him (they were foreign tourists and I had to use sign language to say he was a baby and was a bit scared!!!!!!). Eventually, he started making his way towards the water and finally swam away :-)

I then headed off to Eyemouth to collect my cylinders which I'd taken on Saturday to get trimix, nitrox and air fills.

I left for Cumbrae at just after 3pm (I couldn't leave earlier as I had a teleconference between 2pm & 3pm) and finally arrived at the Watersports Centre on Cumbrae just before 6pm.

The exam started at 6pm and after we watched the candidates start planning tomorrow's diving we headed to Millport and had a curry for dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.