UCL

I passed through the buildings of University College London on my way from the Sleeper train to work on the Strand.

I had planned to have a nice, relaxing evening watching "The Hour", eating fish and chips and getting to bed early. The first two happened according to plan, but the third went out the window when I heard the shower in the bathroom. Fred and I looked at each other, then looked at the cat - none of us had turned on the shower. We raced to the bathroom and saw sewage pouring through the light fitting. Oh dear.

Our upstair's neighbours have had trouble with their bathroom plumbing from when they moved in. The previous home owners put in the plumbing themselves, but badly. The waste pipe has now broken so upstairs are without a loo. Their home insurance won't cover it because the work was faulty in the first place (even though it's not the fault of our neighbours). Luckily the waste water has now stopped flowing through the light fitting (I'm writing this the morning after). The ceiling light electric circuit remains off until it dries out and I have my fingers crossed the the ceiling in OK. It looks fine at the moment, but I'm keeping an eye on it. I really feel for my neighbours - I hope they manage to convince their insurance to work for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.