Year Three

By RobotChicken

Meet CrappyPod and FrankenPod

Been planning this blip for one of my down days, CrappyPod (on the left) and FrankenPod (on the right).

I came to a conclusion several months ago that I needed a tripod, so being the tight wad I am I found CrappyPod on Ebay for £8.95 including shpping. Bargain I thought. If you want to skip to the conclusion - don't buy £8.95 CrappyPods off Ebay and think they'll be any good.

Anyway, the build quality of CrappyPod really does have to be seen to be believed. In fact, it's worth £8.95 for pure entertainment.

1. It has a removable base plate, which is so weak that the camera will fall off the tripod in a small breeze. If you carry the camera attached to the tripod, they will also detach. Camera did fall off, and I played an excellent save.

2. It has a tilt function for portrait shots, which will topple the tripod if you try and use it. The legs are just not far enough apart.

3. It has an extending piece at the top so you can get your kit to about eye height. This is stupid and only aids you in catching the camera and tripod as they topple over in a slight breeze.

4. When fully extended, legs and neck thingy, CrappyPod will happily sway in a light breeze - that really isn't a joke. Don't think about low light photography with this thing - it's not funny.

5. The head will move up and down, left to right, but is so stiff and horrible you can't fine adjustment in the slightest. In fact, you need a big UWA (like I have) just to fire the camera in the vague direction you want. Moving the planet is easier than moving the head on this thing.

6. The legs have to be seen to be believed. The lowest legs are about the width of a chopsticks. That's not a joke either. They are so small that they bend under the weight of the tripod itself!

Anyway, it's not fit for purpose, don't buy one.

I figured after laying out £8.95 on CrappyPod, and try as I might, I could not stand to use it any longer (oh yes, I did use it - on calm days mostly), I bought FrankenPod. But my budget was long since blown. Come in 99p FrankenPod.

FrankenPod is a Velbon something or other. It's older than your parents.

It came with its original head, but I found a Manfrotto head in the garage the other day. Bought for a project several years, never used since, worth at least £60. So, with some help from some friends, I had a custom 3/8" to 1/4"UNC convertor grub screw made up, and bolted Velbon to Manfrotto.

Tada - FrankenPod.

Seems to work quite nicely although the legs could do with being tightened up a bit. I will lose a finger soon when that snaps shut one day.

However, as 99p s/h tripods off Ebay go, this is a good one. Like my camera bag which is also older than your parents, tight wad strikes again. (And wins this time).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.