Me and the bees

Back to the Heron cafe , but this time on the other side of the counter. We arranged to meet Mark for lunch. Mark used to do something very important at the UN and has recently retired. His family used to come over to Ireland for holidays and when he was 18 he bought a bit of land and built a house and returns here for a bit of sanctuary once a year. We met him through one of those odd moments - my brother's friend told him that her brother had a house in Ireland; how interesting replied my brother where? south-west. Where? Cork? Where? Near Bantry? Where? Ahakista! My sister lives there! So we meet up once a year and catch up with the news. The sun was shining and the cafe was full.
It's now lashing but I've just heard that a good friend of mine Margaret, is getting married. I am delighted. We were just going over details when she had to go because the insemination man was arriving!!!

Two links - if you like animation do check out this short time-lapse film made by son number 2. If you go to his journal and follow the link you'll find it. He was recently working with my brother on a short animated film about Tchaikovsky and he made this mini film. I found it totally emotional - the puppet just comes to life and has such presence. See what you think.

Also please visit the Grayson Perry competition and vote for my brother's teddy - Pooh!!!!! Grayson Perry, he of the ceramics and cross-dressing, is doing an installation at the British Museum featuring his teddy!! (stay with me). His teddy will of course need a rest from such public scrutiny, so GP asked for other teddies to come forward! The teddies have now been short-listed to 12, but only 3 can go forward - and Pooh is one of them!!! Please vote for him as he's very old, very thread-bear (!!) but much loved :)

And today's image - breath-taking windswept remote countryside coming across the peninsula. Look at the size of the road - fortunately I met nothing. If you enlarge you can see wind turbines on the horizon. Just me and the bees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.