One of five a day

By KiloRomeo

End of an era

Some of you will already know that it takes very little to draw me back to all things maritime. And a cruise ship is a very large magnet by that standard. The thing that intrigued me most is that the Saga Ruby is not docked at the passenger terminal. So I investigated. Do see it large.

The Saga Ruby is the last cruise ship to have been built in United Kingdom in 1972 by Swan Hunter Shipbuilders in Newcastle. The end of British manufacturing - and perhaps mining - was the beginning of great social change. Anyway, let me not digress.

From passing knowledge I know that the Saga Ruby which was once owned by Cunard Cruise Line (of QE II fame) is a British ship. So I was befuddled when I saw that it wasn't the Union Jack that was flying on the after mast. Wikipedia too reports that since 1999, the Saga Ruby has flown the British flag, first registered in Southampton and later London.

A few more web searches later Marine Traffic revealed that as of 21:52 last night, the Saga Ruby has changed its flag state. It is now registered in Malta. That explains what the ship is doing tied up at a cargo jetty. It is undergoing a flag change. Documents, certificates, call sign and even ship's staff's licenses will need to become compliant with Maltese laws. Malta among many other countries is classed as a flag of convenience, with Panama being the most popular. Flags of convenience are just that, allowing ship operators to comply with less stringent standards ...of perhaps those countries where they have better contacts within the bureaucracy.

Good or bad, you decide. But the end of an era, it is ...in my opinion.

Thank you all again for much appreciation, stars, and hearts for last night's blip and for reading this far. Oh and I like my ships in black and white ...another story that :))

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.