earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Deep in the Forest

Go really deep ... if you dare (you definitely should!)

I'm posting after midnight again! Unfortunately, I didn't get home from the office until 10pm this evening so there has not been much time to drop in on blip world. It would have been earlier but my train never arrived. A quick gripe. I can put up with the fact that there are sometimes unforeseen problems on the line, but what really riles me is the complete lack of information. There was a screen which continued to say the service was "on time" but the minutes ticked by and no train arrived. There was no change at all on the screen, no announcement, and nobody around to ask. With just a little information you can make a decision as to what to do, but without any you are left powerless. Do you wait on the platform, or do you go and wait in the pub, or do you make alternative arrangements? In the end four of us get moaning together and decide to share a taxi, and as so often happens I found a connection, a girl in the group being in the same class as No.2 son. So I was able to get some gossip!

I'm enjoying a bit of experimentation at the moment. There wasn't much opportunity to get out today, but I did take a run from the office at 6pm to get some air (and grab a few photos) between finishing a couple of critical jobs. I did some random exploring of Hirst Wood, which sits just beside the canal, and came across this wonderful spot just as the sun momentarily broke through the clouds. After playing around a bit I was quite pleased with this result. It captures the feeling rather well I think. It really did seem like a very ancient forest, almost like a woodland out of a fairytale!

If you're interested in how this started out then here is the original image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.