Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

Scanning...

I recently ran a very old roll of Kodacolor-X coulour film (expiration date: March 1969) through the Rolleicord, with the plan to process the film in black-and-white chemistry (Diafine). I wasn't expecting much, but because I shot a few portraits on the roll, I was nonetheless very hopeful.

When I pulled the film out of the soup this afternoon, I was pleased to see that the negatives looked to have decent contrast, despite that the film's base density was quite high. (I rated the 80 ISO film at 5 when I exposed it.)

Scanning the negatives has proved to be rather troublesome (as have previous experiences with outdated film) because the scanner is having trouble seeing a difference in the densities of the frames and frame lines. In order to scan them, I have scanned a normally exposed black-and-white negative strip and replaced it with the strip I'm trying to scan, adjusting the darkness and contrast at maximums in order to get decent files to manipulate in Photoshop.

As surprised as I was with the quality of the negatives on first look, I was even more pleasantly surprised upon seeing the first scanned frame





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.