Devon

By devon

The Alleys of Hastings

Meet Lianne. She's been on the street for 2 years after she was pulled off her morphine treatment for breast cancer. She moved into heroine, and then crack, which led to her finding her husband dead after an overdose. She told me she has Hepatitis C, but not AIDS. Both her sisters died, I'm not sure how. She was extremely nice to me and told me her story with no reservations. She was going to smoke some crack for a photo, but lost it through a hole in her pocket. She has a Master's degree in Cultural Anthropology.

Hastings in Vancouver is totally overrun with drug problems. I have been to more than 20 countries around the world, and this is pretty much the worst ignorance of the homeless I've witnessed, right at home in Canada. The streets are filled with heroine use, you can see it in broad daylight, and the police just watch. I have no idea what will be done, but something needs to change.

Rejects:
Side View Portrait
Rack Of Tunes
Alley Life

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.