ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Reykjavik sunset

Until about 10 minutes ago, I was blipping a perfectly worthy picture of Iceland's far south coast. I tagged along with some friends who had hired a car today, and we headed along the south coast as far as Vik, taking in Seljalandfoss (big waterfall), views of Eyjafjallajokull (the volcano that erupted last April, including the volanic ash covered glacier that comes off it), the black - volcanic ash - beach at Vik, and the lighthouse at Dyrholaey, which I believe to be Iceland's most southerly point (and thus the part closest to Scotland) where we saw quite a few puffins and various other birds including skuas hanging around looking for a cheap meal.

That was, until I was sitting uploading photos to facebook in my hotel room when I noticed the sunset. So I rushed out and this is the result. It's gone now has the colour in the clouds to be replaced by a sort of generic orange glow. Last night's sunset was marvellous as well. I must start putting these things on flickr so I can link to them. It would appear that Reykjavik does sunsets.

Pretty amazing country, I can safely say. I start conferencing tomorrow, and I have soooo much work to catch up on. I will be on the computer until late tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.