lupine misunderstanding

By Lyeekha

Glow of Friendship

And now I am returned from what may have been my best camping trip yet. Our tent was joined by the tents of old friends from up and down the country, and our little Community gave off a constant low-level glow of good company.

The beautiful days were filled with badminton and playing with our friend's clan of children and poking at old churches and walking to massive follies.

The evenings had pasta and board games (Coppit!) and good conversation and mutual agreement and years-worth of catching up.

The early-night had glasses of wine and huddling around the hired fire and rambling conversation and headtorches and tins of lager and good-natured hilarity.

I like talking to people who've had a few. I don't drink, I don't need to, as when other people drink (maturely), it puts us on a level. I hadn't noticed this before, it must mean that my AS makes me come across as naturally slightly drunk. Huh.

And one evening, the last evening, we broke open a massive pack of glowsticks. After playing joyfully around the fire and making jewellery, me, my mum and all the children ran out into the middle of the pitch-black field and improvised a light show. At first emulating fireworks, throwing many tiny hoops high into the air and juggling them, then connecting about twenty together into a rope that the children skipped in with glowing hands. We made many shapes, throwing and skimming and waving. It looked spectacular. Definitely a highlight.

A beautiful time in beautiful company in a beautiful landscape. I return happily to my own bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.