Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Blooze

As I spend half my life mixing orchestras and bands for a local theatre, my brother Tales From St Ives asked me to have a listen to his new band today.

They are rehearsing for their first gig in a couple of weeks so I am please to say they weren't far off the mark so I didn't have too much to do.

They did suffer from the standard problem of a band with a full acoustic drum kit rehearsing in a small room, i.e. everyone had to be amplified so loud to be heard over the drums that the overall volume was earsplittingly loud. As I was mixing a show with a 9 piece orchestra and 20 mics tonight, I didn't stay too long as I wanted my ears to still work for the rest of the evening.

Next time I must remember to pack my ear plugs :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.