Danksound's Musing

By Danksound

Starflower

A friend of mine has an allotment and she gave me a big bunch of flowers that she had picked from there. I used to have an allotment next to hers but gave it up a few years ago as I hurt my back and the digging became too much in the clay soil!!! I also had a large herb garden up there. This is a picture of Borage (borago officinalis) or starflower. Originating in Syria it has spread to most mediterranean areas. It is supposed to taste like cucumber, is used as a cooked vegetable in salad and it is used as a garnish in Pimms cocktails. The seeds produce an oil called Borage oil or starflower oil. Borage is meant to be good for PMS and menopause hot flashes and also good for colds, bronchitis and respiratory infections. Naturopathic practitioners also use Borage to stabilise the metabolism and hormonal system!! Amazing plant and so pretty too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.