Land of Enchantment

By Laurel

Grand Canyon Evening

We drove due north from Winslow on Highway 87 to Second Mesa. This is the center of Hopi land. A few years ago I bought a replacement wedding ring because my current one was beginning to get to snug. I lost that ring a week ago, so I wanted to buy a new one. They had a beautiful one that fits perfectly. Hopi silver is an overlay style. The bottom layer is oxidzed and the top layer is shiny silver, cut away in a pattern to reveal the blackened silver underneath.

The people here have a fun sense of humor. The trader is an anglo married to a Hopi woman and they sell a lot of supplies for local ceremonies and dance outfits. Our friends both bought tie-dyed tee shirts that read "Don't worry, be Hopi".

The drive to Second Mesa was stunning and the drive through the painted desert to the east entrance to the Grand Canyon was gorgeous, too. We arrived in the late afternoon and amazinglywe had our pick of camp sites. Then we drove to two of the nearest overlooks to gaze at the canyon in the golden evening light.

I cooked a pork loin and green beans on my camp stove and we drank a bottle of wine. Now I feel like I am on vacation!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.