While on my runs

By waipushrink

Early Spring Sunset

Decided I needed to be gentle on my run this morning so did one of my shortest circuits, and took a short diversion to get a photo of the Police recruitment wall art, which has been artfully defaced. It seemed to epitomise defeat, as the artist has dealt to the defacements at least twice.

However, I looked at the sky as the sun started to approach the horizon hidden by clouds, and for 25 minutes or more I was taking photographs, and feeling awe struck. The final choice was hard.

The shot immediately afterward had a gull caught wheeling across in front of the sky; unfortunately, probably too small to be clear once posted. Then I took a couple of the sunset reflected in the glass doors opening onto the deck. Earlier I had a great shot showing the houses of Grey Lynn tumbling down the hillside beneath the dramatic sky. Others showed much more of the harbour. Some were wider angle, showing more sky.

I chose this because it has the greatest range of colours, the most interesting layers of clouds and also different coloured gaps between the clouds, the water of the upper harbour showing red from reflection. But any one of a number of others also please me greatly.

None of my previous Ariki sunsets is quite like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.