Furnace Lass

By furnacelass

Getting There

Thank you for all your kind comments and correct ID on the little sparrows . Delighted to have hit the spotlight with them thanks everyoe for that..

Tonight another bird shot. We spotted this one on the way round to Tarbert via Ardrishaig and Kilberry. Just beyond the Ormsary estate I spotted some pheasants in a field , stopped to get a shot then saw this fellow lift of. I know it's not perfect but I was delighted to get this one as I am still developing my panning technique with the monster 150- 500 mm lens . A very heavy and unwieldy lens which I found particularly difficult to manoevre when I first got it but I am beginning to feel more comfortable with it , hence the title.

We also saw a colony of seals on the rocks , got a lot of shots there , not quite as difficult as a bird in flight. Also saw a lovely turtle dove ( well I think that's what it was , beautiful black and white plumage).

However it has to be this big raptor in flight. you'll have noticed I still haven't named it as I'm not completely sure of the ID . I did search through my bird books but still uncertain ,we reckon it's some kind of hawk but I'm sure someone like Molly will know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.