How I Live Now

By SuzLennox

The Bees - Carol Ann Duffy

Another evening at the Book Fest, this time to see Carol Ann Duffy. I think she's one of the most accessible poets of our time so even if you don't like poetry I would recommend you have a flick through her collections. 'The World's Wife' is one of my favourite poetry collections, taking famous men from history, myth, literature and popular culture and giving the wives' and sisters' side of the story. Her dark humour makes me laugh out loud.

Very much enjoyed her readings, and accompanying musical interludes from John Sampson. Impressed that festival organisers and her publisher, Picador, managed to get a few hundred copies of her new collection, 'The Bees' printed in time for signing. From the taster we got tonight, I think it will be another strong, funny and thought provoking collection. Should still be a few copies in the Book Fest Book Shop if you want to get your hands on it, otherwise officially published in October I think.

From The World's Wife:

Mrs Darwin

7 April 1852.

Went to the Zoo.
I said to Him
Something about that Chimpanzee over there reminds me of you

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.