various applicable allusions

Although the bicycle-fixing shop had rung on Saturday afternoon to say that they were performing the fork-replacement at the time I gave them until the scheduled pick-up time of Monday morning to go and pick it up, slightly upsetting Edgar when I wandered off in a different direction to that in which he was ambling with my mum whilst everyone else slept. Very nice to wander through the city in the morning in a vaguely worklike direction when I'm not actually going there, especially when leaving slightly earlier than I usually leave for work, allowing the extra-morning-morningness to be enjoyed properly.

Apparently there had been some swearing whilst the work was being carried out, though the man in the shop when I picked everything (EXCEPT, irritatingly, the old headset, whose wear I would have been interested to see) up could not report what had caused it other than to suggest it might have been the crown race. The bars are now very slightly lower than they were previously, resting at the top of the steerer rather than at the top of an extender. The new brake doesn't feel much of an upgrade (but does at least reach) and the spacers are disappointingly mock-carbon rather than the mismatching silver alloy I had been told to expect. I've also just noticed that the old spacers weren't in the bag with the old brake and the old fork, so might email the shop to ask where they are seeing as they were quite happy to charge me for the new ones they fitted. Still happy to have bike back, though. Newfork's rake is only very slightly greater but the difference in rattliness is very noticeable, and with no pannier on the back the changed balance is similarly much more like it ought to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.