Our life in the Big Sky

By Scotcan

Get away fae there wi that baw

Went out to do some gardening today and this wee guy was playing fitbaw in my garden. Alright he wasn't. I was going through the garage and found an unopened box saying garden ornaments, believe it or not we have been in our house since last August and we still haven't opened some boxes. Anyhoo, this saying takes me back to my Mum, she raised 5 kids who probably all played with a ball or some sort out the front and she never said a thing, UNTIL, we had all grown up and then suddenly kids on the street couldn't event walk buy the front of her house bouncing a ball that she would shout, "right you, get away fae here wi that baw, go play in front of yir aine hoose. I would get so embarrassed and tell her to leave them alone and she would say "that thud, thud, thud drives me crazy and geez me a sair heed.

Now I find it hysterical. Because probably one day I'll do the same thing (fingers crossed I don't, but I probably will). What I would give to hear her shout at the neighbourhood kids again like that.

Hope I'm not making her sound like a moaner because she was probably the most amazing person I have ever known.

Mrs. Anne Bennett



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.