PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

On the move

Our daughter's on the move again.
Pack the bags and file 'em.
We've booked the van, and got the keys,
Lift the bags and pile 'em.

It's off and up the motorway,
I'll wave my spotted hankie,
And try to smile while I wave,
For which she'll say, "I thank 'e!"

Another chapter's closing,
A fresh blank page awaits;
Farewell, my darling daughter;
Make lots of nice new mates.

Here's power to your elbow,
A fair wind to your sail.
Break a leg, and knock 'em dead,
I know you cannot fail.

And when the van's all loaded,
And our carpet's back in view,
I'll hie me to the internet
And email, "Good for you!"

And email, "Yes, I'm missing you,
But not your piles of stuff!"
Then, maybe pop more in the post;
She might not have enough!

Actually, the packing and the van-hire may be this weekend, but then she'll be back to move out for real next weekend, the day after her brother's wedding. Going to be quite an emotional weekend, methinks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.