Suzanne....

By Suzanne

HT race ~ the start

Today was the HT race. This is the biggest row race in Holland. It's from the main land to Terschelling. Some teams take up to six hours to complete it but it's very worth it...

Today was the first time since I was 15 that I saw the race from the quay.. This is my old team and they did very well! They rowed the race in 3 hours and 25 minutes. I hope they'll win.

130 different boats enter this race and they calculate the results using formulas (which I wont go into now).. They calculate the 'wats per rower' so that the teams with 6 (wo)men have just as much chance of winning as teams with 8 or 10 oars.

We've won this race twice... And I hope they've won it again but there is some strong competition. I'll keep my fingers crossed!!

~ EDIT ~ EDIT ~ EDIT ~ 3 May 2008:

The West Arvada came second! (womans competition) They've done such a GOOD job! Especially because there are some new rowers in the team. They are doing great this season. Lots of teams from Terschelling won prices at the HT race this year. This team at the finish.

Another team from Terschelling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.