Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Contentment

Contentment that comes from a good day's shooting for a big church then waterside wedding, safe travels, and arriving at the most stunning backyard I've ever seen in the company of friends whom I'm met through blogging and our shared interests of the heart. I photographed MamaKat's family of 6 last year on the beach in Santa Monica and we regularly share our ups and downs through blogging. To be both invited to Tara - sweet little heart friend - 's 4th birthday party with the boys and to be invited to shoot was a double blessing. I was capturing the kind of images I really wanted to at the wedding. I cannot help but think that since Southern California has a guaranteed dry season of many summer months, there cannot be a more perfect setting than the natural one for wedding receptions, bathing in such delicious light. Jason left early for a flight and during that time, Kathie's friends helped out with the boys whilst I continued to capture many of the guests with their families in this most beautiful of settings overlooking the complete wilderness of the Los Angeles Forest and mountains, close to where we went sledding in the winter months. I'm working on a look for the very many images I took at the party for the family and thought it might be easier to start with the boys and I. Have to thank Pastor Chris for helping me greatly in capturing this, along with the other guest who holstered Reuben up beside me. Divine light!

I did say a prayer before heading home for the hour's journey West and whilst the boys slept soundly beside me in my big bed, I got barely a wink of sleep on account of Reu's snoring and Callum continuously finding the end of the bed, coverless, to sleep. Sunday's Blip is The morning after... A thoroughly enjoyable and truly exhausting day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.