Pop's Life

By pop

Beat, but not beaten

Today was cleanup day after Hurricane Irene. Pat and I spent nearly 7 hours each cleaning up the mess and debris. Our property is only 1.5 acres, but Irene missed none of it. We used rakes, lawn tractor, leaf blowers, chain saws, hedge clippers and we are still not done. I still have to put a few things back out and to replace three fence posts.

While blowing leaves I discovered a tiny covey of red mushrooms beneath a large holly. Sadly the leaf blower got to them before my eyes did. These delicate little things are survivors and they are my Blip for today.

We are in southeastern North Carolina. We got the brunt of the storm, but we are sued to it. We know how to deal with hurricanes. I believe Hurricanes Bertha, Fran and Floyd were much more powerful and we got through them. My fear is for those in the northeast who are experiencing terrible flooding and other damage.

My primary concern is for my daughter and her two young sons in Norwalk, CT and my daughter-in-law and her son, my grandson, on Long Island.. They have been without power for 14 hours now and I have not heard from them in 9 hours. I may have to drive up there soon.

Sorry for the diatribe. I'm just a bit nervous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.