challenge

By jkj10

Friday Street

It has taken me a full year to get this portrait. A whole summer of chatting to Polly before she would agree to be snapped and a full season before the lighting was right so Polly wouldn't have to squint against the very strong light at the Friday Street boot-sale. Polly has been married to her amour for 60 years. She married as soon as she hit her teen years as was traditional in her community. She said her 'people' are a reserved bunch and rarely allow anyone to photograph them. She has been buying low selling high since she was seven years old and she always has something on offer to tempt me. I am hoping she finds me a flapper dress at some point. She has been keeping an eye out for one.

Hoping to make one last batch of chilli jelly before we head back to London. I wish we could stay a bit longer. The summer has come and gone too quickly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.