Skyroad

By Skyroad

Part of The Pattern, Gorey, Co Wexford

The Pattern, or blessing of the graves, is an annual ritual which draws people from across the country (and across the water, and farther) to tidy and decorate the family graves in their home towns. Mass is said by a local priest and there is a sense of solemnity infused with celebration, a kind of communal wedding and funeral rolled into one. So it is, anyway, in the graveyard in Gorey, where I came for the second time since I learned of this event last year while staying nearby at my wife's parents' place. I keep meaning to learn more about this amazing tradition; apparently, there is a Pattern for every (Catholic) graveyard in the country. As I understand it, the tradition is observed mostly by traveler families, so perhaps it is exclusively theirs, though clearly approved of by the clergy, who have the mass broadcast on large loudspeakers strategically placed throughout the graveyard. I got there before mass had finished, and, as last year, I became involved with a particular group, members of the O'Brien family in this case. I spoke for some time to Alice, who had come over from London. Both her mother and sister, Dolly, died early, as young women. She grieved for her sister in particular, apparently a person who was capable of joy despite her gruelling hardships: 'If Dolly ruled the world, everyone would be laughing.'

I took a few frames of the group, and chose the one above because it is the least stiffly composed; I like the different expressions, the little girl with the long hair, the women with shades (most people wore them), the baby reaching to touch the grave... I gave a couple of them my card so that they can email me, and if they do I'll send on some JPEGs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.