earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Rocky Valley

The Full Monty (to reveal all!)

As much as yesterday's shot was stark and simple in composition, this is bright and busy. I make no apologies for the contrast. I think yesterday's The End of the Road is the blip I've got most excited about posting here. I'm still building confidence in my photography so I'm never entirely sure whether an image works as a good photograph or not. Your endorsement of something I really liked myself has been wonderful. When I saw those clouds yesterday, and the rather ethereal light, I knew I had something good. I love the little thrill that this brings! It was just a matter of playing around with the image a little to bring out the mood. And this was very much one of those blips that named itself.

Having my own business and with clients in Europe, I usually end up working on bank holidays. It's not a bad time to stay in when everyone else is out clogging up the roads - and the weather is usually dreich! Which is exactly how it has been for most of the day. Fortunately, I went for a run first thing before the working day begun. There were clear skies to the East but it was rapidly clouding over from the West. This shot is of one of my very favourite views on the moor, looking down Rocky Valley towards White Wells with Skipton Moor in the distance. I chose this today because it will probably never look better than it does here in the clear light of this morning, the colours of the bracken, heather and bilberry as truly intense as you see here. I also rather liked the shade and the spattering of dappled sunlight on the far hills. It wasn't long before I was overtaken by that cloud cover and then that was the last that was seen of the sun.

I haven't just been working by choice today, but necessity. An important project deadline is looming and there is some new business to chase with a presentation. As a result I've had no chance to drop in on anybody today so apologies for that. I hope you know that I will as soon as I get an opportunity. Thanks again to everyone who has passed comment on this weekend's blips. Each and every one of you has honoured me greatly by twice putting me at the top of the spotlight. There are some strange dynamics to this spotlight thing but I do really appreciate it. I've never been entirely comfortable in the glare like this, but I have to admit that it feels rather lovely at the moment. Cheers everybody!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.