Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

"Perfect fitness is required"

Day 1. Stage 1 - Calenzana to Refuge d'Orta

This absolutely without doubt, is THE hardest thing I've ever tried to do.

All the reports, blogs and books which said that day 1 was going to be a "trial by fire" are completely right!

"Perfect fitness is required"... they said... I underestimated them all - the climbs on this stage are relentless.

1500m up, 200m down.

The walking was fine up until about an hour and a half in, where in direct sunlight and temperatures rocketing towards 30 degrees at 8:00am, I hit 'The Wall'.

I had no energy in my legs, my hips felt like they'd started grinding them selves to dust, I was hot, my bag was too heavy, i was dehydrated, and I was shaking...

Head down, I struggled on for 6 hours, always heading up. Walking gave way to scrambling, which gave way to free climbing, until we reached the high point for the day, and saw the Refuge d'Orta - genuinely the most beautiful stone hut I have ever seen in my life!

I set up my tent, found the nearest water source - a natural spring which after this day tasted like heaven!

I have a feeling I'll sleep well tonight...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.