Once a Day in the West

By thatpowanwoman

Day 6 - Childhood Memory

Day 6 of the challenge - Childhood Memory. You can find it here - the Challenge

I couldn't thing of one specific thing that said Childhood memory to me, so I opted for an overview of my childhood - I was a rather bookish wee girl who like sweeties, collected tins and 'stuff', had a vivid imagination and talked a lot. These are some of the items from my childhood that I still have:

The big book "What Makes It Go" was a real favourite with lots of pictures of inside machines and buildings-loved it, still do!

The book on the bottom left is a collection of Edwatd Lear's 'Nonsense Poems' which my small sister scribbled all over (you can see where she's outlines the Kangaroo. My gran has written my name in it and it's dated 1971. It was a birthday present.

The book top right is the 'Golden Book of Fairy Tales' - I'm now reading these to my own daughter and, yes, the story of the 'Little Match Girl' still reduces me to tears.

On the book of Fairy Tales is my Mr Timms Toyshop tin that I used to save my pennies in, a small box with an abstract picture of a band(?) and a collection of favourite sweeties including a Drumstick lolly and the wrapper of a Matlow's Refresher chew (yes, I did eat it!) - these, it has to be said, were purchased recently for the kids and not vintage or they'd be inedible (or maybe not!). My toy mole is down on the bottom right 'snuffling' up between the books.

On the Edward Lear are two bits of a bracelet my Gran gave me and have disintegrated with age - she bought it in Monaco (allegedly. She did like to travel so it's possibly true). And lastly, a photo of me wearing a Glasgow policemans hat, aged about 4 and looking very pleased with myself. The hat belonged to my Aunt Isabel's husband David, who was very, very tall!

Also doing this challenge:
snappinjez
secrets
Morna

This challenge is being tagged as 'photo challenge 082011' for easy searching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.