Ever bright and fair

By vincedesjardins

Walking Downtown

I had a couple of errands to run in downtown Bloomington, so today I'm posting a blip that is something different than my usual dog walk in Bryan Park scene. This theatre, originally called 'The Indiana," was built as a silent movie theatre in 1922. It is now a performing arts center called the Buskirk-Chumley in honor of the local family that was responsible for its restoration. They host about 200 events a year which makes it one of the busiest community theaters in the country. Next month they will be hosting the Lotus Music festival where my partner and I be seeing Mavis Staples perform. I bought the tickets today. After leaving the box office, I crossed the street to take some pictures. This 1940s automobile drove by just in time for me to catch it going past the theatre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.