La vida de Annie

By Annie

Still life

Weather too grotty today for another window view so here's an exciting still life of found objects on my table just to illustrate the sheer excitement of life here with zero sleep. Apart from the physical stuff this is mainly due to the aged patient in the next bed who moans and mutters gibberish loudly day and night apparently while asleep. The constant unanswered phones ringing (nurses too busy to answer them), ambulance sirens and various alarms going off not only add to the mix but for some reason make her up the volume. A few days ago it upset me so much I fantasised about silencing her with a judicious wielding of one of my crutches, followed by laying waste the useless phones by the same method, and shamefully admit to sending s glut of texts to that effect to friends and family at silly o'clock on one particularly bad night. Now I have come to terms with it and feel compassion for the woman; after all any one of us could end up like that, and I personally would like to upset as many people as possible. It's one of the perks of old age one step further than pushing to the front of queues and accidentally mowing down shoppers with a supermarket trolley, stabbing with a brolly and tripping with a stick while making babies and puppies whimper with a stern look. See how I relish the role already? Any road up, as we used to say in my home county, one of the many distractions I'm enjoying amongst the new visual anomalies is the way if I look at anything for more than a few seconds it seems to move on its own. I managed to get the surface of the water in the jug to ripple just like in Jurassic Park when the T Rex is approaching. There, that wad worth reading to the end for wasn't it? Hope so. It took me an hour to type the bugger. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.