Lisa and the Boys

By narabug

Broom, anyone?

It has become apparent over the past two years of his life so far that Ewan enjoys making a mess (which to him, of course, is just playing. And that's okay, because then he's learning, too, even if it is a real headache for me to deal with the aftermath!). It's also becoming increasingly clear that he likes to clean up, too. This is, of course, a Good Thing, and something I shall endeavour to encourage ;)

He loves his "Lillul Hum" (Little Henry to you or I) and he also has a thing for brushes and brooms.

He seems to take great pleasure in helping tidy up the garden at the end of the day, particularly when it comes to sweeping up some of the leaves and any sand which has mysteriously escaped the sand pit.

So it comes as no surprise when I find sometimes he'd rather play with the broom than the sand pit, trampoline, ball, bike etc.

However, yesterday he was playing with the broom, then suddenly he was playing with two brooms. I have absolutely no idea from where the second broom came, but he couldn't get out of the garden anywhere and the neighbours weren't around to ask (and also weren't there to have passed it over the fence to him anyway. I'm not sure why they would, though I'm sure they've had far stranger requests from their own offspring and theirs in turn over the years).

I did ask him where he found it and if he could put it back where it came from, but he just lined them up neatly against the wall for me where The Broom Which Is Most Certainly Ours (i.e. the middle broom) usually lives.

Today, however, he appeared to magic another broom out of thin air!

Once again, I have absolutely no idea from whence it came!!! I asked Ewan the same question as yesterday, and he lined today's one up against the small shed with the other two!

So, we have three brooms, two of which I'm not sure are actually ours but I wasn't sure existed in our garden before today (well, yesterday for the second broom).

If anyone is reporting the theft of a broom in the local area I can assume E's not only worked out how to get this padlock unlocked, but he's also got the bottom bolt undone, somehow reached the top bolt (that I can barely reach myself), and returned in lightning speed, locking the gate fully behind him, with broom.

I also couldn't help but think of Trigger's broom when I took this shot...!

Enough procrastination! Time to get back to web development! Hopefully I'll have finished what I need to today before midnight tonight... Well, I can live in hope...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.